top of page


In 2016, leaders from three different cities met at Friends Cafe to discuss ways to partner and draw attention and resources to the border community of Rice & Larpenteur. Over spring rolls and curry, the group discussed the promise of the neighborhood and the concerns they were hearing from area residents and businesses. Ever since, city and county leaders have been meeting together and working with the community to support the Rice & Larpenteur neighborhood.


Adopted in 2018, the Rice-Larpenteur Vision Plan (PDF) is a collaborative effort of the cities of Maplewood, Roseville and Saint Paul, and Ramsey County. After a year of community meetings and public input, the Vision Plan includes a strategy to manage future growth of the Rice-Larpenteur Gateway Area in a manner that improves connectivity and accessibility within the corridor, and creates an attractive destination with strong businesses, vibrant neighborhoods and beautiful places.


In March 2019, the Cities and County hired the St. Paul Area Chamber to staff the Rice-Larpenteur Gateway Alliance and manage the implementation of the Rice-Larpenteur Vision Plan. As staff to the Alliance, SPAC is charged with convening the Interim Alliance, building and supporting a Long-Term Alliance, actively seeking economic development opportunities, leading the development of a multi-year funding strategy, and supporting vibrant community events and placemaking initiatives.

About Cover-3.jpg

The Rice & Larpenteur Alliance launched a Community-Based Advisory Board in early 2020, including neighborhood residents, business owners, nonprofit leaders, development partners, philanthropic partners and government representatives. This body is responsible for stewardship of the Rice & Larpenteur Vision Plan and oversight of staffing and contracts. The Alliance works to realize the neighborhood vision guided by the values of Representation and Inclusion, Non-displacement, and Strengths-Based Approaches. The Board is divided into three committees; Executive, Economic Development & Transportation, and Neighborhood Livability & Events. 



Dave Higgins, McGough Development LLC

Johnny Opara, J.O. Companies

Andrea Cadwell, Resident

Emma De Vera, Resident 

Greg Simbeck, Resident 

Mariah Quick, Ramsey County Environmental Health

Daniel J Edgerton, Stantec 

Blake Downing, Hamernick's Interior Solutions 

Mayor Marylee Abrams, City of Maplewood 

Shawn Wiski, Kraus-Anderson Realty 

Trista Matascastillo, Ramsey County Board of Commissioners

Mayor Dan Roe, City of Roseville

Amy Brendmoen, Saint Paul City Council

Kazoua Kong-Thao, Community School of Excellence 

Board of 

Amy Brendmoen*, Saint Paul City Council

Andrea Caldwell*, Chair; Resident 

Angela Riffe, City of Saint Paul - Economic Development

Blake Downing*, Finance Chair; Hamernick's Interior Solutions

Brian Welke, North End Laundry

Mayor Dan Roe*, City of Roseville

Danette Parr, City of Maplewood

Daniel J Edgerton*, Economic Vitality Chair; Stantec

Dave Higgins*, McGough Development LLC

Ella Mitchell, Ramsey County

Emma De Vera*, Secretary; Resident 

Francisco Ramirez, M Health Fairview

Golden DeAngelo, Ever-Green Energy Inc. & Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Inc. St Paul Minneapolis Alumni Chapter

Greg Simbeck*, Events Co-Chair; Resident 

Jane Forliti, Resident 

Janice Gundlach, City of Roseville

Councilmember Jason Etten, City of Roseville

Johnny Opara*, J.O. Companies

Kalease R. Smith, St Paul - Ramsey County Public Health Sexual Violence Services SOS

Kaziah Josiah, Saint Paul Police Department

Kazoua Kong-Thao*, Vice Chair; Community School of Excellence

Keith Allen, M Health Fairview

LaTanya Black, MACGV

Luis Mendoza, MCCD

Mariah Quick*, Events Co-Chair; Ramsey County Environmental Health

Mary Beth Hess, Resident 

Commissioner Mary Jo McGuire, Ramsey County

Mayor Marylee Abrams*, City of Maplewood

Narayan Chhetri, Resident 

Noelle Bakken, City of Roseville

Porsche Hurley, Open Arms of Minnesota

Shann Finwall, City of Maplewood

Shawn Wiski*, Neighborhood Livability Chair; Kraus-Anderson Realty

Tong Khang, JB Vang

Board Chair Trista Matascastillo*, Ramsey County

Commissioner Victoria Reinhardt, Ramsey County

*Executive Committee Member


Alyssa Chin, Roseville Church of Christ

Corey Wethern, AE Signs Systems 

Paster Dana Nelson, Galilee Lutheran Church

Dayna Taylor, Hand In Hand Christian Montessori 

Jim Freeman, TSE, Inc. 

Keith Allen, M Health Fairview 

LaTanya Black, MACGV

Nidhi Joshi, McCarron View 

Noah Blaiser, Halverson and Blaise Group, LTD. 

Sherry Sanders, Rice Street Gardens 

Stephanie Harris, Washington Technology Magnet School 

Julia McCarthy, Keystone Community Services 

Ronna Woolery, Lamplighter Village Apartments 


Kim O'Brien, Executive Director

Maichee Xiong, Administrative Manager

bottom of page